Summer challenge: Summer Sizzle Stashdown part 1

Lately my knitting mojo is on fire. I’m still a slow knitter so the visual progress I’m making now is really motivating to keep knitting. But being a slow knitter I have to be creative in making all the goals before 31 august. Photos can be found here.

Ice pop: complete your oldest WIP or use your oldest yarn The Sirdar duet has been lurking in my stash for years because I couldn’t find the right pattern. Now I’ve finished a my favorite scarf pattern.  Not only did I make this scarf, I also knitted my multidirectional scarf which is my oldest WIP. Only for it to be frogged because I didn’t like the end result. But ending with a positive note. I’m knitting the yarn into a bag and used all ready more than used in the scarf. So less left overs. 

Fresh strawberries: make something red. Quickly knitted was the red honey cowl.

Fireworks: make something with beads or sparkles. Make a dangle for my beautiful blue handbag

Weeding: give away or donate one item (does not need to be knittiing related). I’m going to sort through my stash and fo’s to make room for new prettier things. And also I’m weeding out my closet so I guess I can fill some bags. So far donated one bag of yarn and one bag of scarfs. I all ready gifted one bag of clothes. Might be more where that came from. 😉 And I gifted a box of crafting supplies I don’t longer want to keep moving. They belong to someone who will use them.

Beach: make a bag or something else you might carry to the beach. As I have no beach nearby I’m going to finish a bag that in theory could go to the beach but in the real life probably never will. More than halfway with this one.

Sunburn: make a hat. I have a Bones hat in my queue that would help me destashing.

Walking barefoot in the grass: make a pair of socks or slippers. I’m planning not to keep this one. Although If I really feel like it I might attempt to make some felted slippers. I’ve never knitted socks before and used my sock yarn for a summer scarf.

Summer vacation: make something for a baby or a child. My friend is expecting a baby in august so I had this goal planned.

Swimming: make something blue or green. So far there are two wip’s I plan to finish before 31 august. A bag and a cowl.

Summer reading: read 1 book. My e-reader is fully loaded so this isn’t going to be a problem. Picking where to start first might be the hard part.

Lemonade: make something yellow. I have yellow in my stash but I have to think about this one. Yellow isn’t my color.

Allergies: make something that ISN’T made of wool. Isn’t a problem. I work with cotton and acrylic in achieving the other goals.

Bonfires: make something out of the warmest yarn you have. This might be the Bones hat or the felted slippers

Vacation: arrange a day or a weekend all to yourself. I did!!!! Spent most of my time knitting while watching old movies. Love those classics

In a month I will place a photo post with all finished goals.

2 thoughts on “Summer challenge: Summer Sizzle Stashdown part 1

  1. Pingback: Making a square clutch | Get creative

  2. Pingback: Summer challenge: Summer Sizzle Stashdown part 2 | Get creative

Leave a Reply

