My new knitting bowl

For a while I’ve been searching for a decorative way to keep my knitting in the living room and on my desk. My knitting bag is ideal for storing WIP’s* and tools but it’s kind of big to keep it in sight all the time. Every project is neatly tucked away in ziplock bags that aren’t very decorative outside the bag.
After seeing all those lovely yarn bowls online I wanted to try knitting with a yarn bowl. But to see a beautiful yarn bowl my knitting project would be on the side table next to my couch. Also not quite what I want all the time.
2014-08-29 17.40.37Last week I was shopping in our local HEMA**. There I found this big salad bowl. Separately sold was the wooden lid. It’s a yarn bowl and storage solution all in one! A lace shawl fits easily. A sweater wouldn’t fit but I’m not planning to knit one so that’s okay with me. When I’m taking a knitting break it’s easy to start. And taking a break from knitting is a quick clean up. And moving because the guys are taking over the living room with their games is no problem 😉 So I’m writing and knitting behind my desk, while watching episodes of Sherlock. Having a stressfree, worryfree kind of lazy sunday. A perfect sunday in my book 😀

2014-08-29 17.40.18

2014-08-29 17.41.01* WIP means Work in progress
** HEMA is an international retail organisation with stores in the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxemburg, France and Germany. Customer-friendly and with a unique profile, HEMA distinguishes itself from other retailers by selling its own brand. In addition, HEMA develops its own assortment and likes to surprise customers with timely offers of products for daily use. HEMA products are typically convenient, practical and attractive and of good quality. Source: http://www.hema.nl/hema/about-hema.aspx

Leave a Reply

