Garnstudio Drops Air

When Drops came with their new winter yarns I allowed myself to let my sheep run free for a while and ordered two skeins of Drops Air.

Navy blueBrown

The description  given: A new and exciting “blow yarn” made from soft baby alpaca and cozy and warm merino wool. It’s construction is unique, based on the newest yarn technologies, where instead of spinning, the fibers of baby alpaca and merino wool are air blown into a tube, which makes the garments made in this yarn about 30-35% lighter than those made with conventional spun yarns of the same thickness.

DROPS Air is – as its name says – a very airy yarn that feels wonderful against the skin, which makes it perfect for accessories, shawls, sweaters and jackets in both textured and cable patterns. Garments made in DROPS Air are totally itch-free, which means everyone can wear them!

I decided to make two headbands. We plan a day trip to the coast and I want something to keep the wind out of my ears. Besides that one skein is enough to make a headband so it’s a small project to try out this new yarn.

So when the yarn arrived I grabbed my Dyakcraft needles to cast on. The yarn really is soft and airy. Fun to knit and I really love the soft and warm look of the knitted fabric. I’d like to know  whether it’ll be warm enough when the temperature drops. Today it’s still 20 degrees Celsius so I really can’t tell. It doesn’t feel that warm when I try it on.  I’m planning a trip to Norway in February which is a great reason to knit some new hats and scarves. Not knowing the isolation value makes it difficult to choose the right yarn to stay warm above the polor circle. For most of the Dutch winters I’ll be warm enough so  either way I get to use the headbands.

Want to know how I made the headbands and what they look like? Keep an eye on this blog!

 

2 thoughts on “Garnstudio Drops Air

  1. Pingback: Headbands made with Dorps Air | Get creative

  2. Pingback: My Norwegian ruffle scarf | Get creative

Leave a Reply

