Winter challenge: a hat for my brother

IMG_0125As part of my winter challenge I wanted to knit a hat for my brother. He doesn’t fancy bright colors so I chose this anthracite big merino yarn by Drops. Big Merino is a lovely soft and warm wool that doesn’t itch. Very important because a hat is knit for wearing with comfort. Added bonus is that this yarn is available in 20 colors. So when you like colors like me there has to be one you like.

The yarn was a fast choice. Finding a pattern is something that unnoticed can take a couple of hours. I found this pattern by Atelier M which is available as a Ravelry download. What I like about this pattern is that it has a structure without cables. Not that there is something wrong with cables, I love cables. But these straight lines create a more masculine hat I think. And knitting wise it’s something different which is always nice. This hat knits up quite fast and easy.

This is my third hat knitted with a tubular cast on. I really love that technique. So worth the extra time! 

At first I thought I was doing something wrong because it didn’t look like the pattern picture. So I double checked but there was no mistake. It just takes a few rounds before the structure gets more visible. I hope my brother likes it too!

 

One thought on “Winter challenge: a hat for my brother

  1. Pingback: Winter Challenge 2014-2015 | Get creative

Leave a Reply

