My first attempt at crochet

For a while I’ve been looking at all those lovely amigurumi. I’d love to make something cute like that but I can’t crochet. Just another thing I want to learn. My first crochet project in queue is some lovely flowers to brighten up my light blue Zpagetti bag. The pattern doesn’t seem that hard but what do I know about it? So I decided to teach myself crochet making a basket out of the leftover Zpagetti yarn. Nice and thick textile yarn so it can be used up quickly. Couldn’t think of anything better to make with it.

2015-07-31_15-20-57_medium2

Mine did not end up to have sharp corners but for a first  crochet project I think it’s not that bad. The pattern for this basket is available as a free Ravelry-download thanks to Ilse Naaijkens.

I’ve spent an afternoon watching YouTube tutorials and than just started. I think I made a couple of mistakes and didn’t follow the pattern exactly. As beginner it’s not easy to read crochet where I can read my knitting. I’ll try to crochet the flowers first with some scrap yarn. If that goes well I can try again and do better with nice yarn. For now I’m going to knit some WIP’s.

Leave a Reply

